Showing posts with label Short Story Collection. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Short Story Collection. Show all posts

Monday, September 14, 2009

Iowa Writers' Workshop No fee short story collection book contest


Deadline: Sept. 30th, 2009

Type: No-Fee Contest

Reading Fee: N/A

Prize: Publication

Looking for: Collections of Short Stories

Accepts: Snail mail submissions only

From their site:

The Iowa Short Fiction Award & the John Simmons Short Fiction Award


Any writer who has not previously published a volume of prose fiction is eligible to enter the competition. Previously entered manuscripts that have been revised may be resubmitted. Writers are still eligible if they have published a volume of poetry or any work in a language other than English or if they have self-published a work in a small print run. Writers are still eligible if they are living abroad or are non-US citizens writing in English. Current University of Iowa students are not eligible.


The manuscript must be a collection of short stories in English of at least 150 word-processed, double-spaced pages. We do not accept e-mail submissions. The manuscript may include a cover page, contents page, etc., but these are not required. The author’s name can be on every page but this is not required. Stories previously published in periodicals are eligible for inclusion. There is no reading fee; please do not send cash, checks, or money orders. Reasonable care is taken, but we are not responsible for manuscripts lost in the mail or for the return of those not accompanied by a self-addressed, stamped envelope. We assume the author retains a copy of the manuscript. Publication Award-winning manuscripts will be published by the University of Iowa Press under the Press’s standard contract.


Manuscripts should be mailed to: Iowa Short Fiction Award
Iowa Writers’ Workshop
507 North Clinton Street
102 Dey House
Iowa City IA 52242-1000

No application forms are necessary. Entries for the competition should be postmarked between August 1 and September 30; packages must be postmarked by September 30. Announcement of the winners will be made early in the following year. Previous Winners

Potential entrants wishing to read stories by previous winners may order The Iowa Award: The Best Stories from Twenty Years and The Iowa Award: The Best Stories, 1991–2000, both selected by Frank Conroy.

Thursday, July 02, 2009

FC2 innovative fiction book contest

Ronald Sukenick/American Book Review Innovative Fiction Prize, Sponsored by Fiction Collective Two (FC2) and American Book Review:


Type: Book Contest

Reading Fee: $25

Prize: The Prize includes $1,000 and publication by FC2, an imprint of the University of Alabama Press. In the unlikely event that no suitable manuscript is found among entries in a given year, FC2 reserves the right not to award a prize.

Deadline: Contest Open from August 15 - November 1.

Looking for: Collection of Short Stories, one or more novellas, or a novel.

Accepts: Submissions by mail only. Submit either TWO hardcopies of the manuscript, or ONE hardcopy and one Word file of the manuscript on a labeled CD.

Tuesday, May 26, 2009

Drue Heinz contest for a book-length collection of short fiction

Call for Submissions 2009

The Drue Heinz Literature Prize:

From their site:

The Drue Heinz Literature Prize recognizes and supports writers of short fiction and makes their work available to readers around the world. The award is open to writers who have published a book-length collection of fiction or at least three short stories or novellas in commercial magazines or literary journals.

Manuscripts are judged anonymously by nationally known writers; past judges have included Robert Penn Waren, Joyce Carol Oates, Raymond Carver, Margaret Atwood, Russell Banks, Rick Moody and Joan Didion. The prize carries a cash award of $15,000 and publication by the University of Pittsburgh Press under its standard contract.

The winner will be announced by the University Press in January. No information about the winner will be released before the official announcement. The volume of manuscripts prevents the Press from offering critiques or entering into communication or correspondence about manuscripts. Please do not call or e-mail the Press.

Manuscripts must be received during May and June 2009. That is, they must be postmarked on or after May 1 and on or before June 30.

See website for eligibility details.